Light modifications made.

So I told you about changing out the lights under the loft.  I also needed light in the bathroom and in the loft.  Now, no one seemed to have what I was wanting so I had to find something I could modify. LED’s to the rescue.

The box made the claim they were florescent replacments.  48″ long and looking very industrial.  I opened one up there at Home Depot and looked over the parts.

They are very similar to fluorescent assemblies but instead of a ballast and four wires there is a DC power supply and two wires.  The whole rear portion of the unit existed solely for the purpose of mounting and containing the power supply.  In otherwords…not necessary in my situation.  I broke out the rivets holding the power supply in place and threw the back into the pile.

I ran the two DC wires through a small hole drilled in the wall and mounted just the LED strip onto the wall.  The power supply will be (is already hidden in the loft) hidden out of sight where it can be accessed if repairs are needed later.

What I am left with is a 2100 lumen light strip.  That is right at a  inch thick in total.  Almost unbreakable and real clear even light.

There is one centered in the loft under the window a little above what I think will be mattress height.  This one alone lights up the whole house enough to function.

LoftCompleted.

Completed loft with light.

The second one is in the bathroom above the sink and mirror.  Another 2100 lumens this time in a room smaller than many closets.

LightGlow

Bathroom light while on.

So, if I turn on all five lights in the house (and the porch lamps) I will, consume a little over 75 watts per hour. (And need my sunglasses.)  Because all of these are battery powered my one deep cell battery should last 15+ hours continuously.  Unnecessary but doable.

The loft light and porch lamp are wired with Two-Way switches.  So if I climb into bed and realized that the porch light is on its do not have to climb down the ladder to turn it off.  Same with the loft: Why climb back up just to turn off the lights.

I have also marked the switches as to what theyou control.  Because there are five switches all within six feet of one another in the same space it may not be obvious what light each controls.

If you have been following along since the start of this blog you know how long some of the wiring has been in place.  I suggest you take good notes and DO NOT LOSE THEM.  I spent half a Saturday breaking down the loft walls following wires because I lost my notes.  Then discovering everything was fine I had not installed the missing wire yet because there was nothing at the end yet.

 

This entry was posted in Electrical, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.